Our Board

Contact any of our Board Members by emailing info@tetonhospital.org. Correspondence sent to the Trustees regards public matters and is part of the public record.

In 2015, the Board of Trustees will meet on the following dates at 4:00 pm (unless otherwise noted):
Thursday, January 29
Tuesday, February 24
Thursday, March 26
Thursday, April 23
Friday, May 29 (public session at 3:00 pm)
Thursday, June 25
Thursday, July 16
Thursday, August 27
Monday, September 21 (public session at 12:00 pm)
Monday, October 19
Thursday, November 19
Monday, December 14 (public session at 10:30am)

If you have any questions please call Mary Katherine King, Executive Assistant at 739-7404

Board Members

Michael Tennican, Chair

Michael Tennican has a Bachelor of Science degree from Stanford University and master's and doctoral degrees from Harvard Business School. He taught courses in finance and corporate strategy at the Harvard Business School and spent most of his career as a management and economic consultant. Appointed August 2009, Elected November 2010 - Term Ends November 2018.

Barbara Herz, Vice Chair

Barbara Herz is an economist and holds a PhD from Yale and a BA from Wellesley. She has focused her professional life mainly on education and health. She worked nearly twenty years at the World Bank, where she started the Bank's Women in Development Division, launching an initiative on girls' education and co-founding the international Safe Motherhood Initiative. She then headed the Bank's work on education and health in Bangladesh, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka. She served as a Senior Adviser to Secretary of the Treasury Lawrence Summers and is a member of the Council on Foreign Relations. She is married to Chuck Herz. They have two daughters, one who lives with her husband and daughters in Moose and one who is a pediatrician in California. Initially Elected November 2006 – Current Term Ends November 2018

C. Scott Gibson, Treasurer & Secretary

Scott Gibson is actively involved in the high technology industry, and through his long time participation on the boards of many non-profits, large and small, over the last 35 years as well. From January 1983 through February 1992, Mr. Gibson co-founded and served as President and Co-CEO of Sequent Computer Systems, Inc., a computer systems company which grew from start-up to 2500 employees. Before co-founding Sequent, Mr. Gibson served as General Manager, Memory Components Operation, at Intel Corporation. Since March 1992, Mr. Gibson has been a full time professional director to high technology companies. Mr. Gibson serves on the boards of several other companies and non-profit organizations, including Radisys Corporation, where he is Chair of the Board, Triquint Semiconductor, Inc., Pixelworks, Inc., and NW Natural. He served nearly 10 years on the Oregon Health and Sciences University Governing Board, and will serve on the board of the Community Foundation of Jackson Hole beginning January 1. Mr. Gibson holds a B.S.E.E. and a M.B.A. from the University of Illinois.Appointed December 2011, Initially Elected 2012, Term Ends October 2016

Joe Albright

Joe Albright and his wife Marcia Kunstel operate the Flat Creek Ranch, an historic wilderness dude ranch in Jackson Hole, WY. He is a retired newspaper correspondent and author. During the 1960s-1990s, he worked as a news correspondent in Washington and in more than 40 foreign countries for Newsday and the Cox Newspapers. Joe is a member of the advisory board of the American Heritage Center at the University of Wyoming. He is past president of the board of the Rotary Foundation of Jackson Hole and past vice chair of the Wyoming Council for the Humanities, the Teton County Library Board and the Jackson Hole Historical Society and Museum. Joe and his wife co-authored "Bombshell: The Secret Story of America's Unknown Atomic Spy Conspiracy" (Times Books/Random House, 1997) and "Their Promised Land: Arab and Jew in History's Cauldron - One Valley in the Jerusalem Hills" (Crown Books/Random House, 1990). Appointed August 2009, Elected November 2010 - Term Ends November 2018

Zach W. Hall

Zach Hall, who has a PhD from Harvard, is a retired neuroscientist and scientific administrator who lives in Wilson, WY. Most of his career was spent at the University of California, San Francisco, where he was Professor of Physiology and, later, Executive Vice Chancellor. His major responsibility in the latter position was in planning a new 43 acre campus for the university. Zach also served as the Director of the National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke at the National Institutes of Health and was the first president of the California Institute for Regenerative Medicine, the state agency that was formed to distribute $3 billion dollars for stem cell research in California. Zach is a member of the Board of Trustees of the Morehouse School of Medicine and of the Board of Directors of the New York Stem Cell Foundation. He is also chair of the advisory committee for the National Cancer Institute-Frederick Advisory Committee. Appointed March 2011, Initially Elected 2012, Term Ends October 2016

Bruce Hayse, MD

One of the longest-serving, and better-known family practitioners in the valley, Dr. Bruce Hayse was born in Oregon. Always an avid outdoorsman, Bruce worked for the U.S. Forest Service in Idaho and earned a Master's degree in plant ecology from the University of Wisconsin before graduating from the University of Oregon medical school. Before moving to Jackson in 1983 with his wife and two daughters, Bruce co-founded the environmental group Earth First! He remains a conservation activist today, serving on the boards of the Jackson Hole Conservation Alliance, Western Wetlands Project and Wyoming Wilderness Association. His family practice office is on Broadway in downtown Jackson. Bruce was named "Citizen of the Year" in 1992 by the Jackson Hole Chamber of Commerce. Elected November 2008 – Current Term Ends November 2016

Elizabeth Masek

With an undergraduate degree is in journalism from the University of Utah, Liz Masek spent her early years in the public relations field, with a focus on corporate philanthropic concerns. Her masters' degree is in Health Advocacy from Sarah Lawrence College, for which she completed a practicum at Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center. Liz has served on the boards of the St. John's Hospital Foundation and Teton Wellness Institute, and as a Lay Chaplain at St. John's Medical Center. She serves St. John's Episcopal Church in its Vestry and Stewardship and Education committees. Appointed July 2014, Initially Elected 2014, Term Ends October 2018